Owen Reeher Interview.

Below is my interview with Owen Reeher. Owen and myself just became aware of each other at the end of this last years outdoor track season. However, from the short interactions face to face we had I can say he is quite the definition of a distance runner. I had the privilege of spectating as he ran a monstrous 10k and was given the pleasure of competing with and against him in the Mid-South Conference 5k. Owen seems to have an engine that just never runs out and is one of the most exciting distance runners the Mid-South Conference and NAIA has to offer. From All-Ohio honors in high school track to 10k conference champion as a freshmen in college while finding himself on the podium for his 10k/5k conference doubles all 3 years of college and a 2018 NAIA cross country national championship qualification and three straight Mid-South Conference cross country team titles it is safe to say he has had a well rounded running career. Thank you, Owen! – The Viking Runner

1. Tell me about yourself. Where are you from, how old are, any other hobbies outside running, etc?

Hi; I’m Owen Reeher, from Kinsman, Ohio, and I’m 22 entering my senior seasons at Shawnee State University. Other than running some of my hobbies or interests are being outdoors, hiking, kayaking, disc golf, and other interests as well and looking for new things to do.

2. Why did you choose the college you attend?

Choosing Shawnee State was quite simple for me. My brother found out about SSU and I looked them up and looked into the running program and new it would be a great place for me.

3. What are some high points in your running career? Big wins, PRs, or just things you’ve done that you are proud of personally.

Some big things or proud/unforgettable experiences during running at SSU are: winning a conference title my freshman outdoor season, earning 3 conference runner-ups over my sophomore and junior outdoor seasons, running at the 2019 Raleigh Relays at NC state(even though it wasn’t the race I wanted) and my favorite is running at my first national championship xc race at the 2018 NAIA cross country championship.

4. Can you please list your PRs and the distances for them?

10k: 32:00(track)
5k: 15:23(track)
8k: 26:05(cross country)

5. What is your favorite event and why?

10k: is my favorite event and why…
It pushes you to a point where you have to decide if the obsession youare thriving for is worth the pain. It is a bitter sweet event, bitter in the state of its a 10k and if it goes bad for you it goes real bad but sweet in the sense where if you feel it click early on in the race it awakens your true self and allows you to push deep.
(side note the 5k is a close second to me and how I feel about the 10k I feel about the 5k too.)

6. What got you involved in the sport of distance running? What age did you start, what has motivated you throughout your career to this point etc.

My friend back in middle school told me to join the track team and said it would be fun. Throughout that year I managed to run a 5:03 mile as an 8th grader and then the high schooler coach saw me run and said that I would be a good runner then I gave high school running a shot and managed to have a pretty successful high school career running in three state championships, two in cross country and one in track. And after high school I still wanted more from running so I knew I would go on to run in college. Which leads me still running for SSU

7. Can you tell me about one or some of your favorite races and why they are your favorite or favorites from your career?

My favorite race in high school was my last one, at the state track meet where I ran a 9:38 two mile and placed 7th to earn All-Ohio. And in college it will have to be running in the 2018 NAIA cross country national championship where it was my first national championship race.

8. I got to witness you do the 10k, 5k double at conference this past year. I competed in the 5k with you also. Can you give me some insight to those two runs? How were you feeling, what was your goal, etc.

2019 10k/5k double at Mid-South Conference Championships.
I’ve done this double every year of my career at Shawnee. It a rough double but I enjoy doing this at conference. My freshman year I managed to win the conference title in the 10k and hold a podium finish placing 6th. My sophomore year was a more balanced where I placed 2nd in the 10k (losing to a teammate isn’t bad) and grabbing 3rd in the 5k. And this past year I managed to place 2nd in both I felt good this year’s meet I just went for the win a bit too early in both races but overall a good weekend of racing.

9. I see you post a lot of environmental awareness stuff on your social media. From supporting ocean cleanups to wildlife-oriented stuff etc. is that something you’re into if so please tell me about it.

I use social media a lot ask anyone, if I see something that I think is useful, cool, more just interesting to me I will post or share it. Whether it’s from ocean cleanup posts, running posts, other interests of mine.

10. Do you have any favorite running shoes? Racing spikes, practice shoes etc.

Really anything Nike but starting to look into other brands.

11. What are your favorite workouts? Please detail them and tell me why.

There are a few workouts a like whether it’s form 1000-meter repeats or mile repeats. Also, like tempos and a really hard one is 3x5k.

12. What is one trend in running you have seen throughout your career?

One trend that I noticed, and others have yelled at me about is that I am a very impatient runner.

13. Do you follow any specific diet? If so why if not, then why not?

Somewhat of a healthy diet but not on a plan or anything. I feel like my running really isn’t influenced totally on my diet and I eat a pretty healthy diet anyways.

14. Any advice for fellow runners? High school level, college level, pro level, or just the average jogger.

Have fun with your running is the best advice I can give if you are having fun with this sport it is so worth all of the miles you run.

15. What are your aspirations for running overall? What does the big picture of things hold for you? Any aspirations beyond college?

After college I will continue to run so if any brand wants to sign me dm please!

16. What are two long range goals for yourself either in running or outside running and what are two short term goals as well?

Long term goals are to just enjoy life and running. Make some good times, travel, run some PR’s.
Short term goals: have a great and fast senior year at SSU

17. Do you have any favorite runners? Runners who inspire you?

I enjoy watching the Tinman Elite squad, and of course the great distance runners like Rupp, Farah, Kipchoge and the Citius Mag squad.

18. Closing statements? Words of wisdom or just anything I haven’t asked you would like to add?

Make the best out of everything and anything.


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started